Department of Psychiatry


Dr. Zafiris Jeffrey Daskalakis

Full Professor

Division One: Brain and Therapeutics

Division One (Joint): Brain and Therapeutics

Contact Information

CAMH - Queen Street Site
1001 Queen Street West
Toronto, ON M6J 1H4
Room: Unit 4, First Floor

416-535-8501 x34319



Dr. Zafiris J. Daskalakis was born and raised in Toronto. He initially started his undergraduate studies at the University of Toronto and completed medical school at Queen’s University in 1994. He subsequently entered the residency training in Psychiatry at the University of Toronto which he completed in 1999. While still a resident, Dr. Daskalakis began graduate studies in the Institute of Medical Science at the University of Toronto, supervised by Drs. Shitij Kapur (Imaging/Psychiatry) and Robert Chen (Neurophysiology). He completed fellowship training and his PhD in 2002 at which point he started as an Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto. Dr. Daskalakis was promoted to rank of Professor of Psychiatry in 2013 and is presently the Temerty Chair in Therapeutic Brain Intervention at CAMH. With an expertise in the neurophysiology of severe psychiatric disorders, Dr. Daskalakis’s laboratory uses magnetic brain stimulation to study the role of cortical inhibition and plasticity as potential pathophysiological mechanisms in schizophrenia, depression and obsessive compulsive disorder. Dr. Daskalakis also conducts treatment studies using repetitive transcranial magnetic brain stimulation (rTMS) and magnetic seizure therapy (MST) for refractory symptoms in these disorders. He has been a NARSAD Lieber Young Investigator (2004, 2006) a NARSAD Independent Investigator (2008) and holds or has held CIHR, OMHF and SSO operating awards. He has also been awarded the Samarthji Lal Award in Mental Health Research from the Graham Boeckh Foundation. Finally, he has over 170 peer-reviewed publications in prestigious journals such as the Archives of General Psychiatry, Brain and the American Journal of Psychiatry and is an editorial board member for Biological Psychiatry.