HSRD Awards

Awards will be presented for posters and oral presentations to Faculty and Trainees in the Department of Psychiatry, University of Toronto. Awards will be judged based on the abstract submission and oral presentation/poster.

All submitted abstracts will be considered automatically for an award.

Best Poster Award

Eligibility: All trainees and faculty eligible.

This award aims to encourage investigators in all disciplines in the Department of Psychiatry to present their research in a poster format.

Best Presentation by Graduate Student Award

Eligibility: Masters or PhD Candidate.

This award aims to acknowledge excellence within our scholarly community of graduate students.

Best Presentation by a Resident

Eligibility: Psychiatry Residents PGY1 – PGY5, or Subspecialty Program.

This award aims to encourage psychiatric research on the part of our residents.

Best Presentation by a Fellow

Eligibility: Registered in the Fellowship Program

This award aims to acknowledge excellence within our scholarly community of Fellows.

John M. Cleghorn Newly Established Researcher Prize

Eligibility: Lecturer or Assistant Professor, within 5 years of 1st academic appointment

This award is for best oral presentation at HSRD by a new investigator and aims to encourage activity in psychiatric research on the part of persons beginning their careers in scientific work. A newly established researcher is defined as someone who is within five (5) years of fellowship in psychiatry or final qualifying research degree and who is working toward establishing a career in psychiatric research.

Dr. Peter Prendergast - Ontario Shores Prize Quality Improvement

To be awarded to a psychiatry resident within the Department of Psychiatry who demonstrates excellence in quality improvement by achieving the highest grade in the annual Quality Improvement Project.

The John M.Cleghorn Newly Established Researcher Prize

Departmental award presented at HSRD.